
Oxide Cloud Services says its Centurion AI pod has 260kW available and up to 50kW per rack. Customer numbers, pricing and utilisation are not disclosed.
Oxide Cloud Services says it has secured a dedicated AI infrastructure pod at Digital Parks Africa's Samrand data centre in Centurion, with 260kW of power available for the pod and up to 50kW per rack. The company is positioning the installation as a way for South African businesses to run AI workloads locally rather than relying entirely on overseas public-cloud infrastructure.
The announcement, issued by parent company Data Sciences Corporation on 28 October, confirms a facility arrangement and a stated power capacity. It does not disclose how many GPUs have been installed, what customers pay, how much of the capacity is occupied, or whether any new enterprise contracts have been signed.
Those omissions are the story. A high-density rack allocation can hold demanding compute equipment, but power on a nameplate does not demonstrate AI processing capacity, performance, or commercial adoption. Until Oxide says what is in the racks and who is using them, Centurion has a power reservation, not a published AI service.
Digital Parks Africa describes Samrand as a carrier-neutral data centre between Johannesburg and Pretoria. Its published specifications include 24MW of utility capacity, 2,400 square metres of white space, a 4,500-rack design capacity, and 2N redundancy. These are facility-level specifications. They are not resources reserved for Oxide. A building that can hold 4,500 racks, and a pod with 260kW set aside, are different numbers. Quoting the hall's utility capacity as if it were the pod's would overstate what Data Sciences Corporation announced.
Oxide says the new pod is connected redundantly to its existing infrastructure at Teraco. Redundant, in that sentence, means the link to Teraco is not a single path. It does not say what happens if Samrand itself is down, and it does not say how much traffic the link can carry. The company plans to provide GPU access alongside the high-speed networking, storage, and software needed to assemble AI pipelines. That is a list of categories. It is not a parts list. No GPU model is named.
The pitch targets enterprises in sectors such as finance, insurance, and telecommunications, where data handling, auditability, and latency may affect procurement. A bank or an insurer that wants compute inside the country has a reason to read the announcement. The announcement does not say any bank, insurer, or network has signed.
Keeping compute in South Africa can simplify some data-residency decisions, but location by itself does not prove compliance with POPIA or with a customer's internal security requirements. Businesses still need contractual clarity about access controls, data retention, backups, sub-processors, and where support or monitoring data travels. A server in Centurion can still be administered from somewhere else. The announcement does not say where the people who operate the pod sit.
The company's announcement uses the term sovereign AI. For buyers, that label needs to be unpacked. Physical location, legal control, ownership of the models, software supply chains, and operational independence are separate questions. A South African server room does not automatically settle all of them. Oxide has answered the first of those questions for this pod: the racks are at Samrand. It has not answered the rest in this announcement.
There is a practical case for local GPU services when an organisation wants predictable access to compute without buying and maintaining expensive hardware. The other side is utilisation. Dedicated capacity can become costly if workloads are sporadic, and high-density systems need cooling, network bandwidth, and operational expertise. Up to 50kW per rack is a dense allocation. Density is a power and cooling problem as much as it is a computing one. Oxide has not said how that heat is handled inside the pod, beyond the fact that the pod sits in a data centre that publishes its own facility specifications.
Oxide has not published a rand price per GPU-hour, service-level commitments for this new pod, available GPU models, or measured inference and training performance. It has also not supplied an independently verifiable count of customers using the Samrand installation. A CIO comparing this with an overseas cloud bill has no rate card to put next to that bill.
That leaves South African buyers with an infrastructure announcement rather than a complete buying comparison. The facts that are on the page are these. The pod is at Samrand in Centurion. Data Sciences Corporation announced it on 28 October. 260kW is available for the pod. Racks go up to 50kW. The pod links redundantly to Oxide's existing Teraco infrastructure. Customer names, prices, GPU models, utilisation, and contracts are not in the announcement. The next useful disclosures would be the installed hardware, commercial rates, utilisation, and contractual guarantees. Those would show whether the pod is a competitive local alternative to established cloud providers, or a room with power waiting for customers.
Read against the hero, the same limits apply. The 260kW sticker and the 50kW rack figure are in the announcement. The empty customer line and the unpublished price are the omissions the announcement itself leaves open. Digital Parks Africa's 24MW, 2,400 square metres, 4,500-rack design, and 2N redundancy stay attached to the building, not to Oxide's pod. Teraco is the redundant link Oxide named. It is not a second data centre in this story.
Sources: Data Sciences Corporation announcement, 28 October 2026, as carried in the draft; Digital Parks Africa's published Samrand specifications, cited there as facility-level figures rather than Oxide's allocation.
Source: SA Tech News




